If you Liked Eragon...

If you liked Eragon, you might enjoy reading...

The Lost Years of Merlin  book cover

The Lost Years of Merlin


by T.A. Barron


A young boy who has no identity nor memory of his past washes ashore on the coast of Wales and finds his true name after a series of fantastic adventures.
Y FIC Barron
Fall of a Kingdom  book cover

Fall of a Kingdom


by Hilari Bell


When the rulers mistakenly believe that they can destroy the evil force approaching Farsala, Jiaan, Soraya, and Kavi must find a way on their own to stop their town from being led into the Flames of Destruction.
Y PBK Bell
The Sword of Shannara  book cover

The Sword of Shannara


by Terry Brooks


Shea must save a fantasy world from a warlock lord by finding a mystical sword.
SF PBK Brooks
The Naming  book cover

The Naming


by Allison Croggon


A manuscript from the lost civilization of Edil-Amarandah chronicles the experiences of sixteen-year-old Maerad, an orphan gifted in the magic and power of the Bards, as she escapes from slavery and begins to learn how to use her Gift to stave off the evil Darkness that threatens to consume her world.
Y FIC Croggon
The Ropemaker  book cover

The Ropemaker

by Peter Dickinson


When the magic that protects their Valley starts to fail, Tilja and her companions journey into the evil Empire to find the ancient magician Faheel, who originally cast those spells.
Y FIC Dickinson
So You Want To Be A Wizard  book cover

So You Want to be a Wizard


by Diane Duane


Thirteen-year-old Nita, tormented by a gang of bullies because she won't fight back, finds the help she needs in a library book on wizardry which guides her into another dimension.
Y PBK Duane
The Sea of Trolls  book cover

The Sea of Trolls


by Nancy Farmer


Jack and his little sister are captured by trolls and must journey to Jotunheim, home of the trolls.
J FIC Farmer
The Siege of Macindaw  book cover

The Rangers Apprentice Series


by John Flanagan


The adventures of Will, a rangers apprentice and later full fledged ranger in a war torn world.
Y FIC Flanagan
Inkheart  book cover

Inkheart


by Cornelia Funke


Twelve-year-old Meggie learns that her father, who repairs and binds books for a living, can "read" fictional characters to life when one of those characters abducts them and tries to force him into service.
J FIC Funke
Wizards First Rule  book cover

Wizards First Rule


by Terry Goodkind


The first book in a epic fantasy series.
SF Goodkind
Eon Dragoneye Reborn  book cover

Eon: Dragoneye Reborn


by Alison Goodman


Eon wants to become an apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons, but she must hide the fact that she is a girl. 
Y FIC Goodman
Seraphina  book cover

Seraphina


by Rachel Hartman


In a world where humans and dragons co-exist, Seraphina must find her place in the world while developing her musical talents.
Y FIC Hartman
Dark Lord of Derkholm  book cover

Dark Lord of Derkholm


by Diana Wynne Jones


Derk, an unconventional wizard, and his magical family become involved in a plan to put a stop to the devastating tours of their world arranged by the tyrannical Mr. Chesney.
Y FIC Jones
The Hunting of the Last Dragon book cover

The Hunting of the Last Dragon


by Sherryl Jordan


In England in 1356, as a monk records his every word, a young peasant tells of his journey with a young Chinese noblewoman to St. Alfric's Cove and the lair of a dragon.
Y PBK Jordan
Song in the Silence  book cover

Song in the Silence


by Elizabeth Kerner


A woman adventurer joins a ship sailing to the Dragon Isles in search of fruit that prolongs life. While there, she falls in love with the king of the dragons, with whom she communicates by telepathy. When a sorcerer tries to feed her to a demon, the dragon changes shape into a man and saves.
Y FIC Kerner
Gifts  book cover

Gifts


by Ursula K. Le Guin


When a young man in the Uplands blinds himself rather than use his gift of "unmaking"-a violent talent shared by members of his family-he upsets the precarious balance of power among rival, feuding families, each of which has a strange and deadly talent of its own.
Y FIC Le Guin
A Wizard of Earthsea  book cover

A Wizard of Earthsea


by Ursula K. Le Guin


Book one of the Earthsea Cycle.
J FIC LE GUIN
The Young Elites  book cover

The Young Elites


by Marie Lu


After surviving a fever, Adelina is left with strange marking and supernatural powers. 
Y FIC Lu

The Merchant of Death  book cover

The Merchant of Death


by D.J. MacHale


Bobby Pendragon finds himself in an alternate dimension in a country fighting against a magical tyrant.
J PBK MacHale
The Novice  book cover

The Novice


by Taran Matharu


When a blacksmith apprentice discovers he can summon demons, he is sent to a special academy where he must make decisions that affect an entire empire.
Y FIC Matharu
Sabriel  book cover

Sabriel


by Garth Nix


Sabriel, daughter of the necromancer Abhorsen, must journey into the mysterious and magical Old Kingdom to rescue her father from the Land of the Dead.
Y FIC Nix
The Search for the Red Dragon  book cover

The Search for the Red Dragon


by James A. Owen


Nine years after they came together to defeat the Winter King, John, Jack, and Charles return to the Archipelago of Dreams and face a new challenge involving the Lost Boys and giants.
Y FIC Owen
Song of the Lioness  book cover

Song of the Lioness


by Tamora Pierce


Eleven-year-old Alanna, who aspires to be a knight even though she is a girl, disguises herself as a boy to become a royal page, a learning many hard lessons along her path to high adventure.
Y FIC Pierce
The Lightning Thief  book cover

The Lightning Thief


by Rick Riordan


After learning that he is the son of a mortal woman and Poseidon, god of the sea, twelve-year-old Percy is sent to a summer camp for demigods like himself, and joins his new friends on a quest to prevent a war between the gods.
Y FIC Riordan and also SP Y FIC RIordan
The Hobbit  book cover

The Hobbit


by J.R.R. Tolkien


Bilbo Baggins is prompted by Gandalf the wizard to partake in an adventure. 
SF Tolkien and SP Y FIC Tolkien
The Lord of the Rings book cover

The Lord of the Rings


by J.R.R. Tolkien

 
Include the trilogy of books: Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, The Return of the King
Y FIC Tolkien